Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: [SOLVED] New to Linux and UBUNTU

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

[SOLVED] New to Linux and UBUNTU

Hello fellow peoples.

I am new to the entire Linux experience. I have always used Windows and finally trying to switch over from the Microsoft Monopoly. I have used Windows based software and OS since 97. I thought I was pretty good until I got into Linux, and now I feel like it is the first time I have looked at computer. Kind of like Neo in the 1st Matrix first using his eyes.

I have a PC system with AMD64 3200+ with Epson NX300 Printer. Thus far I really enjoy UBUNTU 8.10 64bit. So far I have not run into any real problems with the exception of getting my printer install.

As earlier stated I know nothing of Linux, got through my first install cause it was basically automated. I can get by on everything as is for now but, I really need to get my printer working as soon as possible.

I don't know how to go about trying new drivers from websites. I don't even know where to begin cause I don't understand the terminology, the file system, or the programing for Linux. I am fast at learning computers, so if someone could help I would really appreciate it. At least enough to help me get my printer going for now.

Right now when I connect the printer it comes up recognises the printer as the Epson NX300, but then uses the driver for Epson DX8450. But when I print a test page it doesn't print anything it just starts rolling paper through until it runs out of paper and when I print from open office nothing happens.

Again Thank you for any help in advance and sorry for the long first post.

AJ

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: New to Linux and UBUNTU

Here is a site to get you started, welcome to ubuntu, and enjoy.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=801404
    Never wade in water you're afraid to swim in unless it's the Linux pond, cause there's always a life ring in the forums

Beans